Troop 99 Rochester, MN

Recognition Awards

Youth Religious Emblem Award

Silver on silver knot on purple background with purple border.

Award Requirements:

Religious emblems are for all members of the BSA that wish to pursue them. The Youth Awards are earned through work with the individual religious unit and the requirements for each are set by the church and not by BSA. Once earned, the award is generally presented by the church or religious group but may also be recognized by the Scout unit at an event such as a Court of Honor or Troop meeting or Pack meeting. This award may be earned as a youth, or presented to an adult that is nominated. Once earned as a youth, the knot may be displayed on the uniform from that time forward. If a Scout earns the youth award and as an adult later is presented the adult award as well, both knots may be worn. For each faith, a specific set of requirements is published and is established by the religious faith and not by BSA. For a listing of resources for each of the religious faiths that participate in this program, see the P.R.A.Y. web site

William T. Hornaday Award

Green/blue/white on green/blue/white knot on tan background with tan border.

Award Requirements:

  • The William T. Hornaday Award recognizes Scouts and Scouters for their service to conservation and ecology efforts in their communities. There are six different Hornaday awards with an ever-increasing scale of challenge. The youth individual awards are based on earning certain merit badges and completing one or more significant conservation projects.
  • The Silver Medal award is the highest possible attainment in conservation for a Boy Scout
  • The Gold Medal is the highest possible attainment in conservation for a Scouter. The gold medal may be considered when a qualified Scouter is recommended by his or her council, by an established conservation organization, or by any recognized conservationist. The nominee must have demonstrated leadership and a commitment to the education of youth on a national or international level, reflecting the natural resource conservation/environmental awareness mission of the Boy Scouts of America. Nominations must be approved by the BSA's national conservation committee.
  • A Unit Certificate can be awared to a den, patrol, or group of five or more Scouts for a unique, substantial, conservational project, but the square knot is reserved for those earning one of the medals.

Medal of Merit Award

Gold on Blue knot on tan background with tan border.

Award Requirements:

The Merit Medal honors Scouts, Venturers and Scouters that have performed some act of meritorious service above and beyond what is normally expected of a youth or adult member of the Boy Scouts of America. Key in the difference between this award and the Heroism awards is that the action need not involve saving life, but must employ some aspect of Scouting learning or skills in the execution.

Medal of Heroism Award

Red on red knot on white background with white border.

Award Requirements:

The Heroism Award is presented to Scouts and Scouters that have saved a life at little or no personal risk. In the past, those persons would receive a Certificate of Heroism from the local Council. Today, those previous holders of Certificates of Heroism as well as present Scouts, Explorers or Scouters are honored with the present Medal.

Medal of Honor Award

Red on green knot on tan background with yellow border.

Award Requirements:

The Honor Medal is presented to Scouts and Scouters shown courage in attempting to save a life with personal risk. This award has been presented posthumously to Scouts who have died while attempting to save the life of another. In very exceptional cases the award is presented with crossed gold palms to Scouts and Scouters who have attempted to save a life at great personal risk demonstrating exceptional heroism.

James E. West Fellowship Award

Gold on green knot on tan background with red border.

Award Requirements:

James E. West served as the first Chief Scout Executive of the Boy Scouts of America for over 30 years. The West Fellowship award is available for gifts of $1,000 or more to a council endowment fund. The gift must be in addition to -and not replace or diminish - the donor's annual Friends of Scouting support.

The James E. West Fellowship Award is an 8-by-10-inch certificate, personalized with the donor's name, date of gift, and council name. In addition, there will be a distinctive lapel pin/charm and an embroidered square knot for uniform wear. While it is a national recognition, the James E. West Fellowship award is authorized and presented by the local council.